BJP-led government in Manipur wins trust vote
N. Biren Singh was sworn in as Chief Minister of Manipur on March 15.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) led combination in Manipur won the confidence vote in the State Legislative Assembly with a voice vote on Monday.

Prior to the floor test, BJP legislator, Yumnam Khemchand Singh was elected as the Speaker of the House.

After election of the Speaker, the N. Biren Singh government won the confidence vote through a voice vote.  A Congress legislator demanded that the voting be done through a secret ballot, which was rejected by the Speaker.

“The Opposition and ruling combination should work together for the interest of the people of Manipur,” Chief Minister N. Biren Singh, said after winning the confidence vote. The BJP, which has 21 elected representatives, has support of four MLAs each from the Naga People Front and National Peoples Party. One Congress MLA, Th Shyamkumar Singh, along with the lone MLA of Trinamool Congress T. Robindro Singh, and Shyam Karan of the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) have all extended their support to the BJP led combination.

The Congress, which had won 28 seats in the Assembly polls, is left with the support of 27 MLAs.